The Awakening

The Awakening
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Publisher: Harper Collins/April 2009
Series: Darkest Powers #2
Genre: Young Adult/Supernatural/Science Fiction

If you had met me a few weeks ago, you probably would have described me as an average teenage girl—someone normal. Now my life has changed forever and I’m as far away from normal as it gets. I’m a living science experiment—not only can I see ghosts, but I can raise the dead without even trying. Trust me, that is not a power you want to have. Ever. I’m running for my life with three of my supernatural friends and we have to find someone who can help us gain our freedom back before the Edison Group finds us first. Or die trying. {goodreads.com}

Review

Just like The Summoning, I completely enjoyed this novel. Kelley Armstrong is definitely finding her writing niche when it comes to Young Adult novels. Her characters, plot lines, and style have all matured and developed in to a very gripping story line.

The Summoning begins right where The Awakening left off, with Chloe attempting to escape from the Edison Group once again. The story that follows is one where Chloe and friends (Derek, Simon, and Tori) attempt to find the contact that Simon and Derek’s father said to get in touch with if they ever needed help.
The story continues to develop the series’ overall plot: supernatural teens who have been genetically modified, while expanding upon the main characters and their specific powers. Chloe finds out about a new side to her powers, Tori learns that she doesn’t need spells to cast, Derek begins to change, and Simon discovers that he is not “different.”

Overall the story is good and expands upon the plot line; however, I do believe that it was drawn out a bit too much, and did leave some important things unanswered: Rae. However, even with this down falls I still found it to be a great read.

RatingAdored!Large

Leave a Reply

