Intertwined

Author: Gena Showalter

Publisher: Harlequin Teen, 2009

Series: Intertwined #1

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Young Adult

Most sixteen-year-olds have friends. Aden Stone has four human souls living inside him:

One can time travel.
One can raise the dead.
One can possess another human.
One can tell the future.

Everyone thinks he’s crazy, which is why he’s spent his entire life shuffled between mental institutions and juvie. All of that is about to change, however. For months Aden has been having visions of a beautiful girl—a girl who carries centuries-old secrets. A girl who will either save him or destroy him.

Together they’ll enter a dark world of intrigue and danger… but not everyone will come out alive. {goodreads.com}


Review

Let me start off by first saying that I am a huge fan of Showalter. She has written some of my ultimately favorite teen books. Unfortunately, Intertwined is not one of them.

The story was messy. There were too many characters that were quickly introduced and then never fully developed, i.e. the fairies, Shannon, and the true identity of Eve. I feel that Showalter did a great disservice to her readers by neglecting the expansion of her characters. I would have rather her expand exponentially on just a few characters and create a magical reality, than to throw a bunch of paranormal whatsits in to an outline hoping to create a story.

I was also distracted by the bizarre attraction between the couples (Aden/Victoria and Mary Ann/Riley). The attraction between the couples was automatic a la Twilight. As with her characters Showalter should have developed the relationships and they would have been easier to digest. I was also disturbed by how dependent each character was in their mate (and I choose mate because there is really no other way to describe the relationship, very primal). As with Twilight I (a grown woman) felt that the characters had a unhealthy codependency that has me worried about how society views a healthy relationship.

I am upset with this story because I love Showalter and the novel had a fantastic storyline. I just wish it had been developed fully. Unfortunately, I do not recommend reading this story.

RatingDNLLarge

 

 

Leave a Reply

