Top Ten Tuesday #4

TopTenTuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by the lovely ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week The Broke and the Bookish post a new Top Ten list that will be answered by all of the bloggers who participate will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All that is asked of you is that The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.


 

 

This Week’s Topic:

Top 10 Books That Were Hard for Me to Read

 

1.) Intertwined -Gena Showalter: oh my gosh the story was ok, but the characters were terrible. There was absolutely no depth.    2.) The Night Journal -Elizabeth Crook: I honestly do not remember a single thing about this book, other than how long it took me to read it.   3.) Pope Joan -Donna Woolfolk: This was given to me by an old co-worker, and while I loved the historical aspect, I was not entertained. I guess I kept expecting it to turn in to wicked intrigue like The Other Boleyn Girl.    4.) Serpents’ Kiss -Melissa De La Cruz: The first book was great! The second was super disorganized and I felt that it was just thrown together and not really thought out.      5.) Tris & Izzie -Mette Ivie Harrison: I received this as an ARC from TLA, and it was just uninteresting hopefully it was just a super advanced copy and there was more editing.     6.) Book of Lost Things -John Connolly: Once again I don’t remember anything other than how long it took me to get in to the story.      7.) The Dark and Hollow Places –Carrie Ryan: I felt betrayed by the ending of the story. I really wanted to know more and to have more background, and love, but nope. It just ended.     8.) Lolita -Vladimir Nabrokov: Deeply disturbed by this book.     9.) The Memory Keepers Daughter -Kim Edwards: I was super emotionally attached to this book, and could not understand why a parent would go to such lengths to hide a child.      10.) Eat, Pray, Love -Elizabeth Gilbert: Big yawn. I was hoping that it would be reminiscent of Under the Tuscan Sun, but it was not. However, I loved the movie.

Yes, I read all of these books. However, I had a very hard time doing so, and the reason is that they never grabbed my attention. I just “ho-hummed” along till I finished the book. There was no “aha!” moment, no love for characters or plot, just dissatisfaction.

What Books Were Hard for You to Read?

Once again if you want to participate don’t forget to join the linky at The Broke and the Bookish.
6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #4

    1. I agree. I felt that Showalter dropped the ball on this book, and it is such as shame because she is a great author! I loved the first two books in The Forest of Hands and Teeth, but the last one left me wanting and not in a good way.

      Like

    1. Definitely. I honestly have to say that most of these books were read years ago, and I’m sure that I would connect better with some of them now that I’m older than I did when I read them. I need to learn to not be afraid to re-read “ho-hum” books to see if my current perspective changes how I view the book…something to ponder on throughout the rest of my work day 🙂

      Like

  1. The only one here that I’ve read was The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, and I just did not like it, maybe because I didn’t like the characters or the decisions they made.

    Like

Leave a Reply

