{mini}Book Review #12

minimeme


 

8576171 9535352 11838803

 

1.) Faery Tales & Nightmares, by Melissa Marr  -Unfortunately I won’t be able to give a great review because this is a collection of short stories from Marr, and it has been quite a while since I have read them. However, I do remember thinking that they were all very wonderful and that the Wicked Lovely connected short stories answered many questions that I had with the series. And as with all of Marr’s work fantasy, horror and folklore are all delightfully intermixed and wonderfully told. I highly recommend this collection to anyone who enjoys fae folklore or someone who is familiar with Marr’s Wicked Lovely series.

2.) Texas Gothic, by Rosemary Clement-Moore -First off I am a born, bread and inhabitant of Texas, therefore, I had to read this to see if it is up to snuff with the creepy history that Texas claims. And, ultimately I came to the conclusion that yes, this story holds up well. I loved the witchy side of this story. It made me feel that this is a Texas good-ole southern version of Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman. If you love a good witch story and are a Texan, I believe that you will adore this novel.

3.) The Last Echo, by Kimberly Derting  -I absolutely LOVE this series. It is creepy and keeps the reader on their toes. I love the chemistry between Violet/Rafe/Jay. However, this addition to the series threw me off because it seems to only be about Rafe, which was hard to handle. However, this is a great story and like the previous books Derting keeps you on your toes till the very end. A great read for a lover of suspense, however, you do need to read the two previous books in the series to understand the content in this novel.

Do you have any books that you have read, but did not review?

Leave a Reply

