Review| Dream Thieves

17675462Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Series: The Raven Cycle #2

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal

Release Date: September 17, 2013

Format: Hardback from Library

Blurb:

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same.

Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life.

Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after… {goodreads.com}

Purchase: {Barnes&Noble} {Amazon}

AddtoGoodreadsButton


 

My Review:

Don’t get me wrong, but I love Blue and her Raven Boys; however, this story took me FOREVER to get in to, and I was completely dumbfounded by certain aspects of it. First off, lets start with what I loved:

  • I loved how the relationship between Blue and the Raven Boys has grown. They are a true group of friends who become each others family.
  • As the reader you learn a lot more about the psychics and who they pan out with the storyline.
  • Blue develops more depth and history.
  • Gansy learns to control his extravagances and how even though he was always extravagant with good intentions, sometimes it still hurt.
  • Ronan has HISTORY! We learn that he is not some wanna be skin head. He is a real person with a dangerously delicious past.

Things I did not like:

  • Adam as a whole. I felt that he overstepped his boundaries because he was hurt. He spends this entire novel whining, and it was TOO much. I would have written him out of the story by now.
  • Blue’s half-Aunt (can’t even remember her name) what happens? I need to know!!
  • Mr. Gray is a wonderful character, but I felt that his decisions were wrong. And how will this affect Blue and her boys, not to mention her mother.

Overall a wonderful entry in to the Raven Cycle, and a must read. Hopefully, the next book will be just a fabulous as the first.

3stars

Leave a comment